Home / News / Daylight Saving Time
Daylight Saving Time

Daylight Saving Time

This year on November 7, there will be excitement in the air as the clock turns back one hour signaling the end of daylight saving time for 2021. While most states participate in this yearly routine, we are going to dive into why we do it, the history, and what some states do not participate. 

With Daylight Saving Time, the goal is to utilize daylight more effectively by providing an extra hour of light in the evening during the summer and more sunlight in the mornings during the winter. According to this The New York Times article, Ben Franklin is widely considered to be the originator of Daylight Saving Time. In 1784, he wrote this letter requesting that Parisians wake up with the sun in order to maximize daylight. He proposed that this would save the number of wax candles used. In 1907, a British businessman named William Willett wrote an essay called “Waste of Daylight”. In this essay, he stated that changing time on clocks would be an easier process than adjusting human behavior. He advocated this idea actively. Germany was the first country to establish daylight saving time in 1917. Gradually, the idea continued to spread in popularity around the world. 

In addition to the United States, at least 40 countries around the world also follow it. However, according to the Farmer’s Almanac, US law does not require states to follow Daylight Saving Time. Currently, Arizona and Hawaii do not follow it. Indiana had voted to follow it in April 2006 after much confusion with some counties following it and others not. The Northern Mariana Island, US Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico do not follow it. 

We at Cold FAid hope that you use your hour to refresh or reset! 


Leave a comment